Bike Across America Journal – Wednesday, March 4, 2015 (Day 23)

Wednesday, March 4, 2015 (Day 23)

Start: Winters, TX

End: Sweetwater, TX

Weather: Ice & Snow

Miles: 48+

Today was miserable.

mar_4_a

I made a mistake today not checking the weather properly. I knew the forecast for today was to be colder, but the last knowledge I had of today’s weather was from two days ago when I was in Austin, TX. Without a cell signal or internet, I left this morning at 10am and the temperature was 50 degrees. I should have been aware of the conditions before I left Winters, TX. I should have at the very least asked someone, but instead I was about to bicycle blindly into the storm.

mar_4_b

The weather began deteriorating rapidly.  Winds were high and from the north as I pedaled away from Winters, TX alongside farm fields. The bicycle computer stopped working somewhere along here, so I had no idea how fast I was going…probably not a bad thing…I am not sure. Within a few miles HWY 153 turns north toward Wingate, TX. Where I was headed was due north, straight into the storm. The wind would soon turn into a headwind of 30+mph. Rain was horizontal. I struggled to keep going. mar_4_c

Every pedal stroke seemed intolerable. I prayed for my sanity, and the next town to have a building I could step inside to warm up in. I made the 13 miles to Wingate, TX. I lucked out at there was a Post Office. mar_4_f

I arrived in Wingate just after 11am. The Post Office was open, and had a small room where residents could access their P.O. Boxes. I stood in the small room dripping as locals came in glazing at me. Soon Ashley (Post Lady) peeked her head to find out who everyone was talking to, and she invited me in to the desk area. I stayed with Ashley warming up inside until 12pm. Ashley updated me on weather conditions.mar_4_gI still had no cell signal. Weather warnings had the weather turning worse by 1pm, and deteriorating into the night. Ashley made me several offers to get out of the upcoming storm, even allowing me to stay with her family at the guest house.

mar_4_h

Mistaking I trudged on thinking I only had 30+ miles to make Sweetwater, TX. Ashley warned me that there was nowhere to go inside for the 30+ miles ahead, I would be all alone. To calm her worries, I taught her how she could track me to make sure I made Sweetwater, TX. I told Ashley it would take me another 4 hours to make Sweetwater, TX if I did not stop for any breaks. This ride would not have even been possible if HWY 153 did not have a shoulder the whole way. I was going entirely too slow. And I now wonder if I would have continued if a shoulder was not present.

I kept cycling, I kept worrying about my hands freezing to the point of me not having the capability to have use of my fingers. But my feet became the real first problem. I no longer had control of my toes, and my feet curled up in to bricks. I could not tell how my feet were situated on the pedals, as I turned to two lumps of flesh, my feet continuously slipped on the icy pedals.

mar_4_k

Headwinds continued to increase. Standing up to pedal was not an option. The bike would hardly stay in the shoulder of the road. Just taking a break and standing in the wind pushed me and the bicycle backwards. mar_4_l

As the winds increased, so did the rains. I found myself in a Windmill Farm. And would later learn Nolan County, TX is one of the largest windmill farms in the world. I knew I could not conquer Mother Nature, but I kept trying to see if I could make Sweetwater. I did not understand how I could not make the 30+ miles to Sweetwater. 30 miles?…That’s so little I kept thinking, but I as I thought about every pedal stroke. My life existed on what was only 10 feet in front of me. I could not look up to see down the road. Rain was pelting down on me, and my glasses were not usable with so much water coming down. I never knew if this was the last 10 feet I would be going today.

mar_4_m

As I came creeped past windmills, I eventually saw a brick building on the left. Cars were parked outside. The building looked brand new, kind of closed, but I tried to see if anyone was inside. I found the front door open. I was offered towels and a restroom, but I stood on the front door mat for 10-15 minutes dripping on the mat trying to warm up my feet and hands. I did not want to soak the floor by walking around the building. I was informed there might be a Jerky Store open 11 miles outside of Sweetwater. That would be the only place until town. I did not stay long, and as I left I noticed ice forming on the front of the bicycle (noticeably the GoPro and he bicycle wheels). This is when I knew I was in serious conditions.

mar_4_n

From the Windmill building, I still had about 18-20 miles to Sweetwater, TX. Sweetwater, TX sits on Interstate 20, and is a town full of motels and restaurants. If I could just make Sweetwater.

I should have only had 1 to1.5 hours of riding to make this distance. I continued. Not knowing where I would actually make it. I was not wearing my glasses, and it felt as if dirt/sand from the farm fields was being kicked up from the winds into my eyes. I would later realize this was sleet stinging my eyelids. At this point, everything was collecting a sheet of ice. My jacket, gloves, pants, sunglasses, bicycle. As I rode, ice was forming in front of me. The roadway began to freeze.

Up on the horizon, I saw what was the Jerky Store. Surprise, Surprise…The “OPEN” sign was lite up. A little ope popped up inside of me. I just wanted the front door to be open, and the people welcoming.

mar_4_o

I left my bicycle outside, as I walked into the small store filled with books in the front room. Three people were chatting, and I knew I was at their mercy. I was welcomed and asked to sit by the fireplace…and they had several small gas fireplaces burning!!! Feeling bad for bothering them, I purchased a BBQ frozen sandwich and coke and sat by the fireplace warming up. Outside hard rain sleet pounded the metal roof. I started really questioning my sanity to continue. For what good reason did I need to continue today. The windows of the store became iced up to where you could not see outside.

I had 11 miles to town, as I sat inside the store warming up. I contemplated how I can make this. Can I bicycle 11 miles without the possibility of stopping, or would my worse case solution be to put the tarp up, and get in a sleeping bag and survive the night until tomorrow. As I sat inside, the weather continued to deteriorate. Nothing was imperious from ice formations. The gravel road at the Jerky Store became ice. Sheets of ice was collecting everywhere.

I had a hard decision, I was offered a ride into town by Buffalo Bill (Jerky Store Owner). In the end I felt it was wise after having made such a foolish decision this morning to bicycle. Buffalo Bill took me into Sweetwater, TX, we stopped off to buy a heat lamp for his water pump, and then Buffalo gave me a tour of the town from the inside of his warm truck along with historical background.

I checked into the Ranch House ($68). I later venture out into the snow for dinner. I found myself okay with walking in these conditions, but bicycling just seemed to mentally brutal. I decided that I should stay another night as well.

I just want to thank people who help others.

Leave a comment