Bike Across America Journal – Friday, March 6, 2015 (Day 25)

Friday, March 6, 2015 (Day 25) Start: Sweetwater, TX End: Post, TX Weather: 55 degrees, No Clouds, 5 to 10 mph SW Miles: 84 + Took advantage of motel’s included breakfast this morning of biscuits and gravy with orange juice. I left the motel around 8.45am. The first 4+ miles were along the frontage road for Interstate 20. Today could not have been much easier. The weather played a big part with sunny blue skies. mar_6a By 1:15am I was in Snyder, TX eating lunch in the truck stop gas station (37 miles). So I hung out for an hour or so relaxing. From here on, I was able to ride in shorts, no gloves, and a windbreaker. mar_6_a I stayed on Highway 84 West for all but the first 4 miles. There is a shoulder the entire way until you reach Post, TX. Highway 84 is scattered on both sides of the highway with Wind Farms. However, the wind never really bothered me blowing at 5 to10mph from the southwest. mar_6_b My biggest issue was worrying about getting a flat tire from the tire debris, glass, and gravel sections. Untitled-2 I made Post, Texas around 3.45pm, and was in a motel ($56) by 4pm. I headed to the grocery store next door for snacks, and came back to relax in the room. Tomorrow I should make Lubbock, TX and be hosted by a WarmShower. I spent the evening cutting my hair, and going to Subway and Dairy Queen for dinner. mar_6_c

spot_03.06.15_overview

Leave a comment